From Eko Towers

The white expatriate with red scalp

And very soft looking

Very scanty black hair

That wouldn’t look my way

Was he afraid

Did I stare a little too hard

I still admired away

The beauty of our differences

 

The entrepreneur expatriate

Quite studious

Laptop open

Cup of coffee at hand

Or was that tea

Sitting on a table somewhat away

From the noise and the bustle

Scrolling away on his phone

Teaching me to work hard

 

The swimmer expatriate

In the pool

In the rain

In the cold

This must be a different kind of summer

In a way I am yet to experience

 

The cook

The butler

The steward

Domestic whites

Expatriates as well

Such an interesting world

 

The non expatriates

The Nigerians

The staff

The visitors

Alike in body

Different in soul

Some pleasant

Others not

 

The sole fish meal

The best in the pack

Took my soul away

And made me promise

To find a way to eat it as much as I can

 

Author: dnddyon

My Igbo name can be literally translated as "child is delicious". For a deeper meaning, one could say that "having a child/a heir is wonderful/great". With this perspective, this blog strives to live. Having access to this blog should be a beautiful thing. I bring you random stories, fiction and real, from a very rewarding sound perspective. You should love to be here.

2 thoughts on “From Eko Towers”

Leave a Reply

